Picking up NCIS fanfiction!

Like the title says, were picking up NCIS fanfiction! But it’s not going to be any of the current running series, it’ll be something of my creation (somewhat). NCIS: New York! I love this already. So I will need some writers now! This plan in still in the air, nothing is confirmed. I want to see what my friend Clarence is going to do. I want him to run it, but I need to be the head of it though – since basically it was my idea.

Clarence and I were thinking of a starting storyline for my upcoming fan-fic of Law & Order: CI, “Mercy” and we kinda got to talking about NCIS. Then NCIS: New York came into my head!

It’s going to be a long trial. I think if I pick up NCIS: New York it will be a mid-season deal that will run while the season break of the CI fan-fics is going. Still 13 stories but enjoyable ones. NOTHING IS CONFIRMED – this is just an idea we are running with. You’ll know by July if I decide to pick up NCIS: New York. It’s got a nice ring to it.

The original NCIS (starring Mark Harmon) will return to CBS this fall!

11 Comments

  1. gahks
    Posted June 23, 2010 at 5:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You ought to start your own fanfiction channel: The Fanfiction Network! TFN! (Does that have a ring to it?)

    • mortonsloci
      Posted June 23, 2010 at 6:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

      It’s got a nice ring to it!

      Nothing is cast in stone on the NCIS: NY thing yet. We were just pondering the thought. We’re trying to ‘spinoff’ the CI fanfics and create the NCIS: NY fanfics. But you’re right, I should just make a channel. I would like to do some for Law & Order but the show is still being discussed so I’ll have to hold off on that one. But the NCIS: NY thing is more than likely going to be picked up. It’s up to my brother and my friends on if they feel like writing NCIS stories – I already have them strung out on CI stories!

  2. gahks
    Posted June 25, 2010 at 12:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Haha, well if you want to set up the channel, I can write “Law & Order: UK” stories if you like! Then we can have a “UK” and “CI” doubleheader, at 9 and 10pm!

    • mortonsloci
      Posted June 25, 2010 at 2:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’ll think about (and I might take you up on that offer) actually writing UK (storyline wise) will be all you though, I haven’t seen the UK version. I can help you with ideas/thought processing though. I don’t know if my friend Clarence has seen UK or not, he might would help with ideas too or even writing. I’ve seen one of the stories he’s written for CI and it’s Warren Leight all over again.

      A triple header, if I decide on NCIS: NY it’ll be L&O: UK at 8pm, L&O: CI at 9pm, NCIS: NY at 10pm on Tuesday nights. Right now I just need to see if CI fanfics will be read with a good number of readers on fanfiction.net before I take on anymore shows.

  3. gahks
    Posted June 26, 2010 at 5:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Josh,

    Three (fairly substantial) points:

    1. If you do decide to go ahead with the ‘UK’ project, I wonder if it would be possible to not use characters from the TV series in the fanfics. Believe it or not, I had already started creating a UK version of ‘L&O’ before plans for the show were officially announced: Dick Wolf stole my thunder! So I’d like to use my own existing characters, if I may, but I promise you this ensemble will be much better and the stories will be original, ripped-from-the-headlines cases, not based on old mothership scripts, as is currently the case with the ‘UK’ show – in essence, this would be a reboot! In any case, I need to know quite quickly whether or not you’ll pick it up, because I am currently on leave before starting university (going to Warwick to read Philosophy, Politics and Economics – yes, it’s exciting!) and I plan to use July and August for the majority of production and shooting. It also means I’ll be looking for writers to help me out!

    In short:
    New City. New Characters. New Crimes.
    ‘Law & Order: UK.’

    2. While the premise of ‘NCIS: NY’ is a good one, I’m not sure it has much traction since there is already an ‘LA’ spinoff and it might just end up being a carbon copy of that. However, I did see the potential for crossover fanfics, and so have come to another suggestion: revive ‘Law & Order’ for a virtual 21st season! Yes, there is the issue of S. Epatha Merkerson leaving (and we’d have to write out Van Buren within the first two or three episodes), but I’m sure we could find a replacement! (CCH Pounder, maybe?) I also wanted to see Rubirosa having a baby, in the light of Alana de la Garza’s announced pregnancy, continuing with the more personal dimension the mothership has taken in recent years. And then we can have a three-way ‘UK’/’CI’/’L&O’ crossover! I’m thinking an extradition-based story…

    3. As regards your current ‘CI’ fanfic efforts, I’d also suggest adding a permanent ADA to the cast list. The show hasn’t really been the same since Carver left: I miss his levelheaded, no-nonsense attitude to whatever absurd tactics Goren is planning next to catch a suspect! Teddy Sears, maybe? And I’d consider bringing Noth/Logan back for a multi-episode arc, or even a “Stress Position”-style appearance, assisting the lead detectives in solving a case.

    • mortonsloci
      Posted June 27, 2010 at 11:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I’ll go in order for responce.

      1. I’ll pick it up for you. I have no clue/knowledge on the UK investagation/proseuction. I only know majority of US and mostly in NYC. But more or less I’ll pick it up for you, if it’s writers you need I could try to pull some in for us both. As long as you are intending on being in charge of the UK stories. (how many stories do you have ready?)

      2. The NCIS fandom is related to the L&O (or how the L&O used to be). NCIS/NCIS: LA have their own groups of fans. / If we knew the original L&O series was done for good, I’d pick it up! By the end of the 2010-2011/ begining of the 2011-2012 tv season, if no word is out by then – I’ll pick it up for a virtual 21st season. It’s mostly because of TNT, their contract goes out in 2011-2012 with NBC, so who knows; they might bring the show back, ‘might’.

      3. I have plans for CI. If they would cancel CI I would bump the Nichols/Stevens characters for Logan and someone of my mind.

      It’s all busy busy for me but I try. I could even finish off the first virtual season stories for L&O: CI because I’ve been busy. My actual best friend took over the writing. We’ve got jobs, trying to get into college, it’s busy – in our spare time we get CI/L&O/UK/NCIS on our brains. I had to work Saturday (here in NYC) so I couldn’t get back to you like I wanted to.

      • gahks
        Posted June 28, 2010 at 7:34 am | Permalink

        I’m more than willing to be Executive Producer and showrunner for the virtual “Law & Order: UK.” But I desperately need writers!

        Thanks for picking it up and for responding so promptly!

        Gah-Kai Leung

      • gahks
        Posted June 28, 2010 at 7:46 am | Permalink

        P.S. You can be my first hire as Consulting Producer or Co-Executive Producer, depending on how your commitments are!

    • mortonsloci
      Posted June 30, 2010 at 1:27 am | Permalink | Reply

      I think I could be a consulting producer!

      Sorry I’m late on replying (it almost 2AM here) but I have a tight life schedule!

      • gahks
        Posted June 30, 2010 at 5:26 am | Permalink

        Cool! That is agreed!

        Is there an e-mail address I can contact you by, so when the first few stories are ready I can send them to you to be uploaded?

  4. gahks
    Posted June 26, 2010 at 6:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Addendum to the previous: if anyone needs to contact me more directly when ‘UK’ gets started, here’s my name and e-mail address:

    Gah-Kai Leung
    gahks@hotmail.com

    I’ll also be trawling Facebook etc. for writers!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

